supersaver

Author Topic: How much obligation is too much?  (Read 718 times)

Cup Ramen

• Topic Author
How much obligation is too much?
«: February 15, 2011, 08:56:30 PM»
Before I start, I'll recognize that the average adult is probably much busier and faces more serious stress than I do, but this is what it's like for me here and now.

I'm a student in my third year of high school, which is the most difficult year to get through in my school (in so many more ways than just academically). With that comes a lot of obligation if you want to be "successful". You've got the SAT and/or ACT, beginning to search for colleges, maintaining grades in the most impossible academic year ever, and God help you if you do sports programs as intense as ours tend to be.

On top of that, many students (including myself) are involved in 4H or some other kind of leadership/community service/youth group/etc. More stuff for college applications and becoming "well rounded".

What ever happened to allowing time for yourself and your family? I feel like everyone, whether they're a kid or not, has too much on their plate. Life is so fast-paced and busy all the time. I, for one, just can't handle it. I'm expected to become some kind of superhero and do all of these things to make myself "well-rounded". Any spare time is just more time for another "opportunity", or I'm wasting it.

Being constructive is great and all, but now I find it hard to utilize any spare time for the active things I used to enjoy doing. Now, whenever I find myself with a shred of spare time in my day, I just end up sitting on my ass because it doesn't feel like an obligation. I feel like it's a result of all the pressure and obligations in my life right now. I'm busy the rest of the time, so why should I do anything with my precious free time but rest?