supersaver

Author Topic: Trade "Rules/Agreements" - Do you make them?  (Read 1637 times)

Offline Zodiac

Trade "Rules/Agreements" - Do you make them?
«: January 09, 2009, 06:16:14 PM»
First, let me explain what I mean by Trade Rules/Agreements.

Trade Rules/Agreements are when people trade an alt, or anything really, they make a special set of spoken rules that they expect each party to respect throughout the trade, and possibly afterward. A common one you see is "I will trade you *Alt*, but only if you agree to never sell it. f you don't want it anymore (or quit) 'give' (or sell) it back to me (sometimes for the same price)."

People often make these kind of rules when trading away alts that are apparently so special and important to them, that they are willing to give it to someone else, often times someone who is a stranger or mere acquaintance.

My purpose in this thread is to find out what people think about these rules. Do you make them? Do you agree to them? Do you follow through? Do you believe people who tell you they will?

Personally, although I may have in the past but I don't recall, I do not make these kind of silly rules in a trade. If I am going to trade an alt, then I am accepting the fact that I am handing it over to a new owner, who can do whatever they wish with it. I would HOPE that they keep it at least for a while, and maybe make a nice character out of it - but even still, I am also accepting the fact that I may see it back up for trade the next day. If I can't come to accept these facts with an alt, then I simply do not trade it, or I am extremely selective with who I might trade an alt to. When people tell me about an alt they traded, and how the person promised they will never trade it, I generally do not believe it at all. There are only a hand full of people in the alt trading market who I have 100% confidence in keeping all trade agreements.